Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Home
Smee School District 15-3
Vision Statement
 
Wóuŋspe wašté hiyágleya! (A good education leads to success!)
Every staff member is responsible for preparing each student to achieve success academically, socially, and culturally in a safe school environment.
 
Mission Statement
Smee School District #15-3 is a public school located in Wakpala, South Dakota on the Standing Rock Indian Reservation.  We are dedicated to the intellectual and social growth of each student as they learn to live effectively in a contemporary bi-cultural world.  Our school educates students to help them become successful in all aspects of life with attention to individual differences.
 
Lakȟóta Tȟawápaha Olówaŋ (Lakota Flag Song)
Tȟuŋkášilayapi tȟawápaha kiŋháŋ oíhaŋkešniyaŋ hé nážiŋ kte ló.
Iyóȟlatheya, oyáte kiŋháŋ wičhíčhaǧiŋ kta čha, léčhamuŋ weló.
 
The President, his staff without end it will stand.
Under it, the people they will grow, so I do this.

Lakota Flag Song was composed by Ellis Chips, Pine Ridge, sometime in the 1950’s.

Lakota translation from the New Lakota Dictionary.

English translation from Sharing the Gift of Lakota Song.

 

 School Calendar and Upcoming Events

 
4/21/2014 12:00 AM   NO SCHOOL Easter Monday 
4/23/2014 12:00 AM   10th Grade to Presentation College-Health Science Days 
4/24/2014 10:00 AM   Redfield Relays 
5/1/2014 2:30 PM   YTC Track @ Eureka 
5/2/2014 12:00 AM   Science Expo 
5/2/2014 2:00 PM   JH Track @ Mobridge 
5/6/2014 12:30 PM   Eureka Track  
5/6/2014 6:30 PM   Bingo 
5/7/2014 12:00 AM   Science Fair in McLaughlin 
5/7/2014 5:30 PM   JOM Meeting  
(More Events...)
 

 Wakpala Breakfast & Lunch Menus 2013-2014

 
  
  
  
  
Breakfast 2013-2014.pdf
  
8/13/2013 9:37 AMNo presence informationSkillingstad, Eric
Lunch 2013-2014.pdf
  
8/13/2013 9:37 AMNo presence informationSkillingstad, Eric
 
 
Microsoft Windows SharePoint Services Logo
Smee School District 15-3
12250 SD HWY 1806, Wakpala, SD 57658
Telephone: 605-845-3040
Fax: 605-845-7244
 
Greg East, Superintendent
Ext. 1111, Email: Greg.East@k12.sd.us 
Karyl Knudson, Elementary Principal
Ext. 3011, Email: Karyl.Knudson@k12.sd.us  
Curtis Huffman, High School/Middle School Principal
Ext. 5041, Email: Curtis.Huffman@k12.sd.us
Amanda Hermes, Business Manager
Ext. 1101, Email: Amanda.Hermes@k12.sd.us
Jay Shillingstad, Federal Programs
Ext. 1021, Email: Jay.Shillingstad@k12.sd.us
Melvin Hill, 21st Century
Ext. 1011. Email: Melvin.Hill@k12.sd.us
Jodi Madison, School Nurse
Ext. 1121. Email: Jodi.Madison@k12.sd.us
Kathy Schmeichel, SPED Director
Ext. 3021. Email: Kathy.Schmeichel@k12.sd.us

Smee School Logo