Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Home
Smee School District 15-3
Vision Statement
 
Wóuŋspe wašté hiyágleya! (A good education leads to success!)
Every staff member is responsible for preparing each student to achieve success academically, socially, and culturally in a safe school environment.
 
Mission Statement
Smee School District #15-3 is a public school located in Wakpala, South Dakota on the Standing Rock Indian Reservation.  We are dedicated to the intellectual and social growth of each student as they learn to live effectively in a contemporary bi-cultural world.  Our school educates students to help them become successful in all aspects of life with attention to individual differences.
 
Lakȟóta Tȟawápaha Olówaŋ (Lakota Flag Song)
Tȟuŋkášilayapi tȟawápaha kiŋháŋ oíhaŋkešniyaŋ hé nážiŋ kte ló.
Iyóȟlatheya, oyáte kiŋháŋ wičhíčhaǧiŋ kta čha, léčhamuŋ weló.
 
The President, his staff without end it will stand.
Under it, the people they will grow, so I do this.

Lakota Flag Song was composed by Ellis Chips, Pine Ridge, sometime in the 1950’s.

Lakota translation from the New Lakota Dictionary.

English translation from Sharing the Gift of Lakota Song.

 

 School Calendar and Upcoming Events

 
8/21/2014 12:00 AM   Dakota Smiles Dental MobileNew 
8/22/2014 12:00 AM   Dakota Smiles Dental MobileNew 
8/26/2014 5:30 PM   Back to School NightNew 
9/1/2014 12:00 AM   Labor Day No SchoolNew 
9/5/2014 12:00 AM   Teacher Data Retreat No SchoolNew 
9/10/2014 7:00 PM   School Board Meeeting New 
9/19/2014 12:00 AM   Quarter 1 MidtermNew 
9/24/2014 8:30 AM   ASVAB Test at 8:35 in the theaterNew 
9/26/2014 12:00 AM   Last Day of Open EnrollmentNew 
10/1/2014 9:30 AM   College Planning at MobridgeNew 
(More Events...)
 

 Wakpala Breakfast & Lunch Menus 2013-2014

 
  
  
  
  
Breakfast 2014-2015.pdf
  
8/21/2014 8:37 AMNo presence informationSkillingstad, Eric
Lunch 2014-2015.pdf
  
8/21/2014 8:37 AMNo presence informationSkillingstad, Eric
 
 
Microsoft Windows SharePoint Services Logo
Smee School District 15-3
12250 SD HWY 1806, Wakpala, SD 57658
Telephone: 605-845-3040
Fax: 605-845-7244
 
Greg East, Superintendent
Ext. 1111, Email: Greg.East@k12.sd.us 
Karyl Knudson, Elementary Principal
Ext. 3011, Email: Karyl.Knudson@k12.sd.us  
Curtis Huffman, High School/Middle School Principal
Ext. 5041, Email: Curtis.Huffman@k12.sd.us
Amanda Hermes, Business Manager
Ext. 1101, Email: Amanda.Hermes@k12.sd.us
Jay Shillingstad, Federal Programs
Ext. 1021, Email: Jay.Shillingstad@k12.sd.us
Melvin Hill, 21st Century
Ext. 1011. Email: Melvin.Hill@k12.sd.us
Britni Dietterle, School Nurse, School Nurse
Ext. 1121. Email: Britni.Dietterle@k12.sd.us
Kathy Schmeichel, SPED Director
Ext. 3021. Email: Kathy.Schmeichel@k12.sd.us

Smee School Logo