Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Quick Launch

Wakpala Public School > Administration
 

 Message from Administration:

 
The Smee School District 15-3 is located within the boundaries of the Standing Rock Indian Reservation in north-central South Dakota. The Standing Rock Reservation, which lies partly in North Dakota and partly in South Dakota, is one of the largest reservations in the Dakotas. Smee School District covers an area of over 300 square miles, and presently serves students in pre-kindergarten through twelfth grade. The majority of the students are enrolled members of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe.
 
Smee School District is an extraordinarily rural district.  Most students are bused to school. The town of Wakpala has roughly 500 residents.
 
The Smee School District recognizes the history and tradition of the tribal affiliation of its students. The Smee School District also recognizes and respects the role that spirituality plays in students’ sense of pride, self-esteem, and cultural identity.
 

 Administration Staff

 
Karyl Knudson
Karyl Knudson
Elementary School Principal
 
12250 SD HWY 1806
Wakapala, SD 57658
 
Telephone: (605)845-3040
Email: Karyl.Knudson@k12.sd.us​
Barry Mann
Barry Mann
Elementary School Principal

12250 SD HWY 1806
Wakapala, SD 57658

Telephone: (605)845-3040
Email: Barry.Mann@k12.sd.us​
Britni Wolff
Britni Wolff
School Nurse

Email: Britni.Wolff@k12.sd.us​
Fred Fischer
Fred Fischer
Cafeteria Management

Email: Fred.Fischer@k12.sd.us​
Kristal Finkbeiner
Kristal Finkbeiner
Business Office Manager

Email: Kristal.Finkbeiner@k12.sd.us​
Stephanie Holzer
Stephanie Holzer
Assistant Business Office Manager

Email: Stephanie.Holzer@k12.sd.us​
Eric Skillingstad
Eric Skillingstad
Network Administrator/
Technology Coordinator

Email: Eric.Skillingstad@k12.sd.us​
Phone: (605)845-3040 Option 7
Kathy Schmeichel
Kathy Schmeichel
SPED Director

Email: Kathy.Schmeichel@k12.sd.us​
Mandy Wolfnecklace
Mandy Wolfnecklace
Clinical Social Worker

Email: Mandy.Wolfnecklace@k12.sd.us​
Terry Dame

Terry Dame
Head Custodian

Email: Terry.Dame@k12.sd.us
 
 
 
Jay Shillingstad

 ​​
Jay Shillingstad
Superintendent

12250 SD HWY 1806
Wakpala, SD 57658

Phone: 845-3040
Fax: 845-7244

Email: Jay.Shillingstad@k12.sd.us
 
Microsoft Windows SharePoint Services Logo